Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Clar Baldus, art education faculty, and Jan Warren, assistant director for Student Services at the UI Belin-Blank Center, were selected as recipients of the Art Educators of Iowa for the Distinguished Service Outside the Profession Award for 2020. Read more.

Gerta Bardhoshi, an associate professor in the Department of Rehabilitation and Counselor Education, named a top contributor to two journals: the Journal of Counseling and Development and the Journal of Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development.

Brian Hand, received the science education faculty, 2021 Board of Regents Faculty Excellence Award. Read more.

Katharine Broton, assistant professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs, received the
Recognizing Research and Innovation Excellence Early Career Scholar of the Year award from the

University of Iowa Office of the Vice President for Research and was named . Read more.

Teresa Garringer, the Research Support Manager in the Grant and Research Services Center (GRSC),
received the Distinguished Research Administrator Award 
University of Iowa Office of the Vice President for Research.  Read more.

Jodi Linley, associate professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs in the University of Iowa College of Education, was selected as a Diamond Honoree for the American College Personnel Association: College Student Educators International (ACPA) Foundation Class of 2021. Read more.

Bill Loyd UI REACH director was inducted into the American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) Foundation’s Legacy Leaders Circle. Read more.

Katrina Sanders, was named Division F Vice President for the American Research Education Association, from 5/1/2021 to 4/30/2022 and was named the recipient of The May Brodbeck Humanities Fellowship from the University of Iowa in spring of 2021. Read more.

John Westefeld received the 2021 Distinguished Faculty Award from the UI Center for Advancement. Read more.

Susannah Wood, associate professor in Rehabilitation and Counselor Education, received the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES) Professional Leadership Award.

UI College of Education Award Faculty Awards

Jeremy Manternach, an assistant professor in music education, received the Outstanding Researcher Early Career Award.

Allison Bruhn, associate professor of special education, received the Outstanding Researcher Mid-Career Award.

The Collegiate Teaching Award is the college’s highest distinction. Honorees are nominated by students and faculty for their excellence in teaching.

Leslie Locke: associate professor in educational leadership, received the Collegiate Teaching Award.

Mark McDermott: clinical professor of science education, received the Collegiate Teaching Award.

Graduate students

Nicole Ann Amato and Brendon Nylen, two Teaching and Learning graduate students, both received the 2021 Teaching and Learning Graduate Student Research Paper Awards. Read more.

Carly Armour, HESA PhD student, received the National Disability Leadership Award from the
American College Personnel Association Council’s Coalition for (Dis)Ability. Read more.

Enrique “David” Degollado, College of Education Postdoctoral Research Scholar, was recognized with a Postdoctoral Research Scholar/Fellow Excellence Award 2021 from the UI Office of the Vice President for Research. Read more.

Alex Lange, HESA PhD student, received the Graduate Research Excellence Award for Social Sciences from the UI Office of the Vice President for Research. Read more.

Anna Gibbs, Special Education PhD student, was selected for the Council for Learning Disabilities 2021-222 Leadership Academy.

Alumni accolades

Buffy Quintero, Iowa Art Educator of the Year

Buffy Quintero (MAT, ‘11) was honored as the Elementary Art Educator of the Year by the Arts Educators of Iowa (AEI) in fall of 2020. Read more.

Gabriela Rivera, HESA alumna, 2020 Iowa Latino Hall of Fame Inductee

Gabriela Rivera, (MA ’99), the Associate Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Tippie College of Business, was inducted into the Iowa Latino Hall of Fame in September of 2020. Read more.

Angela Wittmer, Iowa Middle School Counselor of the Year

Angela Wittmer (MA, ‘11) was named the 2020 Iowa Middle School Counselor of the Year by the Iowa School Counselor Association.

Wittmer has been a school counselor at Holmes Junior High School in Cedar Falls since 2011.  During her time in Cedar Falls, she has served as the School Counseling Department Head and worked with her team to initiate, design, and implement school and district wide character and leadership development curriculum.  Hunter Flesch, a colleague, state t “Angela passionately and consistently advocates for her students beyond normal standards.  Angela Wittmer is truly a one-of-a-kind counselor, educator, and human being.” 

Jean Peterson, Distinguished Scholar Award from NAGC

Jean Peterson (MA, ’91, PhD, ‘95) received the 2020 Distinguished Scholar Award from the National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC).

This national award honors a scholar who has made significant contributions to the knowledge base regarding the education of gifted and talented individuals,  with a continued record of distinguished scholarship recognized by experts in the field.

Peterson is professor emerita and former director of school-counselor preparation at Purdue University, was a long-time classroom teacher, and a state teacher of the year, prior to her doctorate in counselor education at The University of Iowa.

She was supported by a fellowship applied at the Belin-Blank Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development.  A counselor with considerable clinical experience with high-ability children and teens, she continues to speak and publish about their social and emotional development, often focused on the impact of negative life events.

During this second career, she has authored more than 140 books, invited book chapters, and refereed and invited articles.  She conducted eight longitudinal studies of development, from four to 15 years in duration, most of them focused on bright underachievers.

She has received 11 national awards for scholarship and 12 awards at Purdue for teaching, research, or service.  Three of her 12 books are Gifted at Risk: Poetic Portraits; Counseling Gifted Students: A Guide for School Counselors; and Get Gifted Students Talking.  An additional book will be in print in 2021.

Her cross-disciplinary work in counseling and gifted education informed each about the other and helped shift the focus of the latter to include well-being—beyond performance.  The Peterson Proactive Developmental Attention model (PPDA) for teachers and counselors, her exploring the asset-burden paradox of high ability, and her studying how bright children and teens experience bullying, abuse, and other trauma are among her seminal contributions to international scholarship. 

To learn about more alumni accolades and accomplishments, read the most recent Class Notes in our 2020-21 Annual Report.