Wednesday, January 26, 2022


Earl E. Fitz (BA ‘68, MA ‘70) receives the 2020 Dr. Gail Addlestone Community Building Award from the Nashville affiliate of Gilda’s Club with fellow Hawkeye Julianne Volkens Fitz (BA ‘71, MA ‘72). Gilda’s Club is a cancer support community co-founded by Iowa alum Gene Wilder. 


Tim Anderson (BA ‘79) retires after 42 years in education, including 17 as a teacher and 25 as a school administrator. 

Martha Bordwell (BA ‘70) publishes a memoir titled Missing Mothers after retiring from a twenty-five year career as a psychologist. 

William R. Johnson (Ph.D. ‘77) retires from being the Senior Director of Information Technology at Northwestern Health Sciences University in Bloomington, Minnesota. Prior to his retirement, Johnson was awarded the University's Award for Exception Contributions for innovation and leadership in using information technology to modernize the administrative, teaching and student experiences at the university. 

Julianne Volkens Fitz (BA ‘71, MA ‘72) receives the 2020 Dr. Gail Addlestone Community Building Award from the Nashville affiliate of Gilda’s Club with fellow Hawkeye Earl E. Fitz (BA ‘68, MA ‘70). Gilda’s Club is a cancer support community co-founded by Iowa alum Gene Wilder. 


Jeff Weld (BA ‘83, MS ‘94, Ph.D. ‘98) publishes a memoir of 21 months at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy titled Charting a Course for American Education: From Out on a Limb at the Executive Branch.


Rick (Richard) Osborn (Ph.D. ‘90) retires from East Tennessee State University with Dean Emeritus status after spending 30 years at ETSU, including the last 12 as Dean of the School of Continuing Studies and Academic Outreach. 

Jane Dalton (Certification ‘90) is promoted to associate professor of art education at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Dalton has also published a three volume series on Contemplative Practices, Pedagogy and Research in Education: Cultivating a Culture of Learning, Impacting Teaching and Learning and The Teaching Self and The Whole Person: Embodying Teaching and Learning through Lectio and Visio Divina within the last three years. 

Gregory Truckenmiller (BA ‘92, Ph.D. ‘98) becomes the ninth President of Fulton-Montgomery Community College.

John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas (MSW ‘98) is selected as 2021’s Executive Fellow for the Civil Rights Institute in Birmingham, Alabama. 

Michelle Griffin-Wenzel (BS ‘97) receives the 2020 Wisconsin Outstanding Biology Teacher Award. 

Brian Hemphill (Ph.D. ‘98) is announced as the 9th President of Old Dominion University.

Valerie J. Keffala (Ph.D. ‘96) is announced as President of the Iowa Psychological Association. Keffala will serve a one-year term ending in January, 2022. 


Kaye Cole (Ph.D. ‘06) joins Hawkeye Athletics as a mental health therapist and consultant. 

Eddie Moore Jr. (Ph.D. ‘04) joins more than 80 authors in publishing a new book, titled Teaching Beautiful Brilliant Black Girls, meant to help white educators understand, respect and connect to the brilliant Black girls in their classrooms and communities. 

Amy Nissley Stauffer (BA ‘00) earns a master’s degree in business administration with an emphasis on the common good and sustainability from Eastern Mennonite University. 

Amanda J. Berns (BS ‘05, EDS ‘13, Ph.D. ‘16) joins the Belin-Blank Center as a licensed psychologist. 

Annie Hawker (BA ‘00, MA ‘04, MA ‘19) is selected to lead as principal of Prairie Heights Elementary School in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. 


Eugene Parker (Ph.D. ‘15) is promoted to associate professor with tenure in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at the University of Kansas. 

Taylor Vranicar (BA ‘19) teaches first grade at Founders Elementary School in Dekalb, Illinois. 

Hannah (Altmaier) Yang (BA ‘16) receives the first Linda Jones Emerging Teacher Award from the Iowa String Teacher Association as the unanimous choice of the award committee. This award is given to an individual string teacher in their first five years of teaching who has demonstrated excellence in the school orchestra setting. 

Cindy Ann Kilgo (Ph.D. ‘16) is awarded the Early Career Award by the Association for the Study of Higher Education. 

Jonique R. Childs (CER ‘17, Ph.D. ‘18) is awarded a 2020-2021 Global Career Development Facilitator scholarship.

Sara Johnston (Ph.D. ‘13) is selected to serve as the first Olson Fellow for Global Service Learning at Drake University. 

Jeremy L. Williams (Ph.D. ‘18) accepts the position of Action Officer for the COVID-19 Crisis Management Team at the Pentagon. 

Jeremy Heeringa (MA ‘18) accepts a position as the associate principal at Northeast Middle and High School. 


Shelby Greenstein (BA ‘20) teaches special education at Franklin Elementary School in Park Ridge, Illinois. 

Clara Wertzberger (BA ‘20) teaches high school English at Loyola Catholic School in Mankato, Minnesota.  

Katelyn Moore (BA ‘20) teaches 5th grade at Mary Welsh Elementary School in Williamsburg, Iowa.

Read more from the Annual Report 2021.