Wednesday, November 30, 2022
Liz Hollingworth

Liz Hollingworth, College of Education professor in Educational Leadership, director of the Center for Evaluation and Assessment, and interim Departmental Executive Officer of the Department of Educational Policy and Leadership Studies, is being honored among 16 faculty athletics representatives across the nation for significant contributions by the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame.

The honor is part of the 2022 NFF Faculty Salutes Presented by Fidelity Investments. Each school with a member of the 2022 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments receives recognition for their faculty athletics representative, and a $5,000 donation per school from Fidelity is made to support the academic support services for student-athletes at the schools.  

Hollingworth is one of two faculty voting members on the UI Presidential Committee on Athletics, which provides advice and recommendation to the UI president and athletics director on policies governing the UI Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. Nicole Grosland, College of Engineering associate dean for academic programs and professor of biomedical engineering, is the other faculty voting member on the committee and has also been honored by NFF.  

Jack Campbell, a UI student-athlete studying enterprise leadership and a linebacker on the football team, has been named a finalist for the 2022 William V. Campbell Trophy. The annual award recognizes an individual as the absolute best in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.  

“Honoring the faculty athletics representatives from the schools with NFF National Scholar-Athletes sends a powerful message,” NFF Chairman Archie Manning said in a news release. “There is no group more committed to the well-being of our student-athletes, and the NFF National Scholar-Athlete success stories provide a natural vehicle for emphasizing the important contributions of the faculty athletics representatives across the country.”