Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Faculty and Staff Awards

Laura Gallo

Assistant Professor of School Counseling

2022 American Counseling Association Distinguished Professional Service Award

Gallo recognized for addressing mental health needs of youth

Ariel Aloe

Professor in Educational Measurement and Statistics

Mosteller Award from the Campbell Collaboration

Gerta Bardhoshi

Associate Professor of School Counseling

Adam Miller

UI REACH Senior Program Specialist

Iowa Association of Community Providers (IACP) Community Builder Award recipient as a frontline supervisor

Will Coghill-Behrends
Clinical Associate Professor of Multilingual Education

Sherry Watt
Professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs
College of Education Antiracism Collaborative Leader

Lia Plakans, DEO of the Dept of Teaching and Learning; Professor Multilingual Education

2022 Diversity Catalyst Award Recipients from the UI Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

College of Education Anti-Racism Collaborative Leader

Carolyn Colvin

University of Iowa’s Outstanding First-Generation Student Advocacy Awards

Fall of 2021

UI faculty, staff, and students recognized with First-Generation Awards

Noel Estrada-Hernández

Professor of rehabilitation and counselor education and Departmental Executive Officer of the Department of Counselor Education

2021-22 Fellow for Faculty Development

Sherry Watt

Professor in Higher Education and Student Affairs

2021 Induction into the Iowa Academy of Education

2022 Board of Regents Faculty Excellence Award Recipient

Six faculty members awarded for excellence

Allison Bruhn

Innovation Fund recipient from UI Ventures

Jonathan Templin

Professor and E.F. Lindquist Chair in the Department of Psychological and Quantitative Foundations


Lesa Hoffman

Professor in Educational Measurement and Statistics

Innovation Fund Recipients from UI Ventures

David Cassels Johnson

Associate Professor in Multilingual Education and Associate DEO of Teaching and Learning

2022 Obermann Fellow-in-Residence

Barry Schreier

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor

Awarded by the UI Division of Student Life

College of Education faculty awards

Katharine Broton and Stacey McElroy-Heltzel

Outstanding Researcher Award Recipients- Early Career

Mary Cohen and Cassie Barnhardt

Outstanding Researcher Award Recipients - Mid-Career

Postdoctoral awards

GoMee Park

College of Education postdoctoral scholar

awarded first place with the National Association for Bilingual Education (NABE) Outstanding Dissertation Award

Student awards and recognitions

Sora Kim

Literacy, Culture, and Language Education doctoral student

Eric Akuoko

Science Education doctoral student

Stanley Fellowship for International Research recipients

Hannah Baysinger

Student in Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in World Language Education with endorsements in Spanish and English as a Second Language (ESL)

Obermann Spelman Rockefeller Community Scholar

Catie Mintz

Doctoral candidates in Educational Measurement and Statistics

National Science Foundation grant

Andrea Childs

2022 May graduate with a B.A. in English and English Education

Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship Award to Bulgaria

Dawn Thomas
Master of Arts in teaching (MAT) secondary English education graduate student
Margaret P. Benson Memorial Award
UI Celebrating Excellence and Achievement Among Women

Amira Nash
Doctoral student in Literacy, Culture, and Language Education 
and Associate Director of Partnerships and Programs in the College of Education’s Baker Teacher Leader Center

Stephen Lynn Smith Memorial Scholarship for Social Justice Recipient
UI Celebrating Excellence and Achievement Among Women
2021 Diversity Catalyst Seed Grant Award Recipient

Megan Dehner, Tarmar Bernfeld, Mary Ball, and Karen Barkauskas-Goering

University's Council on Teaching 2022 Outstanding Teaching Award recipient

Kwangmin Lee and Diane Neubauer
Graduate Student Research Paper Awards from the Department of Teaching and Learning


See more from the Annual Report