Lindquist Center

September 12, 2018


Diane Baker Shanafelt (BA ’83) was named Teacher of the Year at Morningside Elementary STEM School in Sioux City, Iowa. She recently retired from a 34-year career with the Sioux City Community School District and accepted a full-time teaching position as Assistant Professor of Elementary Mathematics Education at Morningside College.

David Murphy (BS ’88) is the executive director of assessment and accountability for the Monroe County School District in the Florida Keys. He recently received a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from the University of Florida


Lowell Kellogg (MA ’92) was awarded the Districts Mutual Insurance 2018 Risk Impact Award.

Helen Park Jameson(MA ’93) is a program director with Compeer of Johnson County and the National Alliance on Mental Health.


Kelly McConaughy DeVore(BA ’08) is a middle school and high school special education teacher at North Linn Community School District.

(BA ’07) is a research associate with the American Institute for Research.

Kevin Farrell (BA ’09) is an Academic Intervention Coordinator with Grayslake Central High school in Illinois.

Nathan Fulcher (BA ’03) is the English Department Chair at Santa Monica High School.

Catherine Corr (BA ’06) is an assistant professor in special education at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. 

Kristi Trangsrud(BA ’03) is principal at Oaklawn Language Academy in Charlotte, North Carolina.


Tara Knudson(BA ’94) will publish her first children’s book, Christmas Cookie Dayon October, 9 2018.


Mitch Gross (MA ’11) is the interim principal at Northwest Junior High School with the Iowa City Community School District.

Tiffany Flowers (Ph.D. ’15) is an assistant professor of education at Georgia State University Perimeter College.

Jeremy Williams (Ph.D. 18) accepted a 12-month active duty tour with the United States Department of Defense Africa Command as an Assistant Planner of Medical Operations.

Katie Schabilion (MA ’17) is a school psychology intern for Avondale Elementary School District in Avondale, Arizona.

Taylor Scudder (BA ’17) is a 7thgrade literacy teacher at Northwest Junior High in the Iowa City Community School District.

Alex Iosbaker (BA ’16) is an AP Psychology and World Cultures teacher at Muscatine High School in Muscatine, Iowa.

Haviland Gilbert(BA’17) is a K-5 General Music teacher at Lincoln Elementary in Kenwick, Washington.