Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Two University of Iowa College of Education staff members received the Bettina (Tina) Hass Excellence in Commitment and Dedication Awards at the UI College of Education Staff Appreciation Lunch Celebration Wednesday, April 24.

Hass and Dean Clay
Bettina "Tina" Hass receives the inaugural Excellence in Commitment and Dedication Award from Dean Dan Clay at her retirement celebration in fall of 2023.

Bobbie Bevins, an academic program coordinator in the Department of Teaching and Learning, and Deb

 Kakavas, an administrative specialist in the Scanlan Center for School Mental Health were nominated by Will Coghill-Behrends and Travis Dillavou, respectively. 

“I worked here for 44 years, and I’m so honored to have this award recognizing staff,” Hass says of the award named in her honor. “Bobbie and Deb are awesome first recipients of this award. In my opinion, they are both work warriors. I have had such pleasant experiences working with both of them, and they are truly dedicated as I know so many (in the college) are.”

The Bettina Hass Staff Excellence in Commitment and Dedication Award honorees demonstrate an extensive ability to work with a variety of individuals and groups, display deep integrity in their work, and provide excellence in service to faculty, staff, students, donors, and beyond. Hass received the inaugural Excellence in Commitment and Dedication Award during her retirement celebration in the fall of 2023.

In Bevins’ nomination, Coghill-Behrands says, “Bobbie brings a personal effect to the work that at times can be quite stressful by always remaining calm and composed. We admire Bobbie for her unwavering commitment to the department and indeed the college.”

Kakavas’ nomination by Dillavou states, “A large portion of the work (Kakavas) does is behind the scenes, but many events wouldn’t occur and be successful without her presence. Furthermore, she often goes above and beyond in her duties.”

Kathy Mossman retirement headshot
Teacher Education Advising Coordinator Kathy Mossman

The college also recognized Teacher Education Advising Coordinator Kathy Mossman on her retirement after almost 25 years of dedicated service to the college and students. 

“What stands out to me is her quality as an advisor to students,” Professor of Learning Sciences and Educational Psychology Kathy Schuh says, who is also the director of the Education Studies and Human Relations (ESHR) major. “ESHR has the absolute best advisor. Our curriculum requirements have a hidden complexity, and she has helped students navigate with success. We will miss having Kathy as a key support in ESHR, and I’ll miss having her as a wonderful colleague.”

Additionally, 14 faculty and staff members were honored for their longevity in the College of Education.

25 Years:

Michelle Yu - Assessment Office/Administration

20 Years:

Nancy Whetstine - Belin Blank Center

Teresa Garringer - Grants and Research Service Center

15 Years:

David Henkhaus – Iowa Testing Programs

Robert Chametzky – Iowa Testing Programs 

Kara Hageman – Iowa Testing Programs

Amy Sanders – Iowa Testing Programs

10 Years:

Jordan Immerfall - UI REACH

Misty Brents - Office of Student Services

Five Years:

Rebecca “Becca” Stai - Office of Student Services

Bill Loyd - UI REACH
Heather Lowry – Department of Teaching and Learning

Christine Ewert – Iowa Testing Programs

Autumn Williams – Iowa Testing Programs