Tuesday, September 20, 2022


David C.M. Samore (BA '75) was named the Florida Principal of the Year in 2015 and in 2021 David was awarded the "Officer's Cross of the Order of Isabel la Católica" from King Felipe VI of Spain for distinguished service building cultural and linguistic bridges between the United States and Spain.


Valerie Keffala (PhD '96) earned Board Certification in Clinical Health Psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology and has been inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Clinical Health Psychology.

David Staten (PhD '98) was named acting associate provost for academic affairs at South Carolina State University 


John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas (MSW '00, 'PhD, 22) is the first permanent vice president of diversity, equity, and inclusion at Connecticut State University.

Theresa Kirkman (BA '00, MA '03, EDS '21) was named the new principal at Westfield Elementary School in the Linn-Mar Community School District after serving at West Burlington.

Kari Weaver (BA '00, PhD '21), was named the director of the Cleveland Institute of Art’s Jane B. Nord Center for Teaching + Learning, serving in this leadership role when it opened for the 2022-23 academic year.

Nicholas O’Brien (BA '02, BA '02, MA '10, MA '18) is the associate high school principal in the Oskaloosa Community School District.


Joyce Goins Fernandez (PhD '12) won the University of Iowa Diversity Catalyst Award.

Phil Hansen (BA '13, MA '19) moved from athletic director to assistant principal at City High School in the Iowa City Community School District.

James Jorgensen (PhD '14) was hired as the new vice president for legal affairs and general counsel at the University of Iowa, beginning Sept. 30th.

Sarah Lobb (MA '14) joined the College of Education Office of the Dean during the summer of 2022 as its new faculty affairs manager.

Jessica Johnson (MA '14) is the associate high school principal in the Cedar Rapids Community School District.

Olivia Meuret (BA '15) is the instructional coach at Westridge Elementary School in West Des Moines.

Cindy Ann Kilgo (PhD, '16) was named a 2022 recipient of the Indiana University Trustees Teaching Award.

Daniel Elchert (MA '17, PhD '18), has been appointed as the incoming chief executive officer (CEO) of the National Register of Health Service Psychologists based in Washington, D.C. He began serving as the director of strategic partnerships in July of 2022 and will serve in that role until current CEO, Morgan Sammons, retires at the end of 2022.

Carly Walrod (MA '17) is the Dean of Students at North Central Junior High School in Coralville, Iowa.

Melanie Anderson-Collora (MA '17) was named the Harmony Center elementary principal and director of instructional services for PreK-6 in the Van Buren County Community School District.

Crissa Stephens (PhD '18) was named an assistant teaching professor at Georgetown University.

Jay Gorsh (PhD '19), was promoted to the role of director of School of the Wild when it became part of the College of Education in fall of 2021 after serving as the assistant director of outdoor recreation and education beginning full-time in 2016.


Kathleen (Katie) Weiss (PhD ‘20) was named assistant professor at Des Moines University (DMU), along with her role as Instructional Design and Educational Support Specialist in the Center for Educational Enhancement.

Alex Lange (PhD '21) joined Colorado State University’s Higher Education Leadership Program in the College of Health and Human Sciences as an assistant professor in fall of 2021.

Brandy Welch (MA '21) was named principal of Fred Becker Elementary School in the Waterloo Community School District in Waterloo, Iowa, for the 2022-23 school year.

Kristina Brown (MA '21) is the dean of students at Tate Alternative High School in Iowa City.

Cory Jenness (EDS '21) was named the new superintendent of the Emmetsburg Community School District beginning in July of 2022.

Kelli Rushek (PhD '21) joined Miami University’s Department of Teaching, Curriculum, and Educational Inquiry as an assistant professor of English Language Arts in fall 2021.

Darrin Hetrick (PhD '21) was named an assistant professor of applied linguistics at Truman State University.

Amy Curtis (MA '22) joined the Duneland School Corporation in Chesterton, Indiana as the early learning coordinator.

Derek Gabel (MA '22) is the secondary math and science instructional coach and the middle school activities director in the Clinton Community School District.

Zac Gavin (BA '22, BS '22) returned to his alma mater, Maquoketa High School, in Maquoketa, Iowa, where he is teaching high school science courses and coaching middle school football and wrestling.

Justin Cyboron (MA '22) has accepted the elementary principal position at the Iowa School for the Deaf in Council Bluffs for the 2022-23 school year.

Melissa Ford (PhD '22) is the director of special programs and special education in the Grinnell-Newburg Community School District.

Emily Dvorak (BA/CER '22) is the new principal at Weber Elementary School in Iowa City.


See more from the Annual Report