Thursday, April 21, 2022

The University of Iowa College of Education's Anti-Racism Collaborative and Lia Plakans, professor of Multilingual Education and the Departmental Executive Officer for the Department of Teaching were awarded the 2022 Diversity Catalyst Award from the Division for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

The Diversity Catalyst Awards honor the excellent, innovative, and distinctive efforts of University of Iowa students, faculty, staff, programs, departments, and student organizations engaged in DEI initiatives during the previous academic year. 

The Anti-Racism Collaborative (ARC) intends to inspire and normalize conversations that deconstruct how racism operates in our organization, our community, and our society.

The ARC steering committee includes the following members:

  • Daniel Clay
  • Pamela Wesely
  • Mark McDermott
  • Saba Ali
  • Amanda Thein (year 1)
  • Chris Annicella
  • Rusty Barcello 
  • Sherry Watt
  • Amira Nash
  • Nayoung Jang
  • Will Coghill-Behrends