Sunday, March 24, 2019


Gordon Eggleton (MA ’67) professor of chemistry emeritus is one of eight inducted in the 2019 class of the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society Hall of Fame.


Diane Baker Shanafelt (BA ’83) was named Teacher of the Year at Morningside Elementary STEM School in Sioux City, Iowa. She recently retired from a 34-year career with the Sioux City Community School District and accepted a full-time teaching position as Assistant Professor of Elementary Mathematics Education at Morningside College.

David Murphy (BS ’88) is the executive director of assessment and accountability for the Monroe County School District in the Florida Keys. He recently received a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from the University of Florida.

Amy Provow Roberts (BS ’86) is an Early Childhood Educator at Winnetka Community Nursery School in Winnetka, Illinois.

Greg Dietz (BS ’88) is completing his 32nd year as an educator and  administrator for Maine Township High School District 207 where he was named Teacher of the Year in 1990.


Lowell Kellogg (MA ’92) was awarded the Districts Mutual Insurance 2018 Risk Impact Award.

Helen Park Jameson (MA ’93) is a program director with Compeer of Johnson County and the National Alliance on Mental Health.

Tara Knudson (BA’94) published her first children’s book, Christmas Cookie Day.

Jolie Cain Pelds (BA ’93, MAT ’95) is the Director of Innovative STEM teaching at the Science Center of Iowa.

Jody Steinke (MAT ’94) is the principal of Quincy Senior High School in Quincy, Illinois.

Greg Trunkenmiller (Ph.D. ’98) is the president of Fulton-Monthgomery Community College in Johnstown, New York. 

Erin Stein (BA’ 98) is the Assistant Director of Human Resources in Community Consolidated Scholl District 15 in Palatine, Illinois.


Kelly McConaughy DeVore (BA ’08) is a middle school and high school special education teacher at North Linn Community School District.

Nicole Guarino (BA ’07) is a research associate with the American Institute for Research.

Kevin Farrell (BA ’09) is an Academic Intervention Coordinator with Grayslake Central High school in Illinois.

Nathan Fulcher (BA ’03) is the English Department Chair at Santa Monica High School.

Catherine Corr (BA ’06) is an assistant professor in special education at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. 

Kristi Trangsrud (BA ’03) is principal at Oaklawn Language Academy in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Meredith Mauro (BS ’00) is an adjunct professor at Drake University.

Lucia Osa-Melero (MA ’01, MAT ’02) is an assistant professor at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Susan Hildebrandt (MA ’02, Ph.D. ’06) is the recipient of the 2018-2019 Chizmar-Ostrosky Scholarship of Teaching and Learning University award at Illinois State University.

Chelle Lehman (BA’02) is the Director of K-1 School Engagement at the University of Iowa College of Engineering and is the President of the Board of Directors for the Iowa Women’s Foundation.

Megan Thompson (certification ’05) is in her 15thyear of teaching secondary social studies, with 10 years at her current school, Osseo Senior High in Osseo, Minnesota.

Matthew Degner (MA '08, Ed.S. '15)  was named the Interim Superintendent of the Iowa City CSD.


Mitch Gross (MA ’11) is the interim principal at Northwest Junior High School with the Iowa City Community School District.

Tiffany Flowers (Ph.D. ’15) is an assistant professor of education at Georgia State University Perimeter College.

Jeremy Williams (Ph.D. 18) accepted a 12-month active duty tour with the United States Department of Defense Africa Command as an Assistant Planner of Medical Operations.

Katie Schabilion (MA ’17) is a school psychology intern for Avondale Elementary School District in Avondale, Arizona.

Taylor Scudder (BA ’17) is a 7th-grade literacy teacher at Northwest Junior High in the Iowa City Community School District.

Alex Iosbaker (BA ’16) is an AP Psychology and World Cultures teacher at Muscatine High School in Muscatine, Iowa.

Haviland Gilbert (BA’17) is a K-5 General Music teacher at Lincoln Elementary in Kenwick, Washington.

Janice Byrd (Ph.D. ’16) is the recipient of the 2018 Advancing Diversity Award.

Julia Radasevich (BA ’13) is a teacher at Madison junior High School in Naperville, Illinois.

Katelyn Pletcher (MAT ’17) won the Iowa World Language Association Teacher of Promise award.

Zachary Dotzler (Licensure ’18) is a language arts, communications, and advanced placement and composition teacher at Shenandoah High School in Shenandoah, Iowa. 

Jesse Meyer (MA ’12) graduated from the University of Kansas with a Ph.D. in sport management and was promoted to Senior Regional Director of Development at Notre Dame University.

Janelle Brouwer (EDS ’18, Ph.D. ’18) is the new superintendent of Marion Independent School District.

Mary Deiss (BA ’19) is a special education teacher at Shimek Elementary in Iowa City, Iowa.

Kem Saichaie (Ph.D. ’11)  has a book under contract with the University of California Press. The project is tentatively titled The First-Generation University and the Future of Higher Education.

Kari Arias (BA’13) was nominated as a finalist for the Tennessee Science Teachers Association 5-8 Educator of the Year Award

Jon Fisher (MAT ’10) is a language arts and journalism teacher at Central DeWitt High School

Valerie Nyberg (Ph.D. ’12) has been selected as the new principal of Ames High School in Ames, Iowa, beginning July 1, 2020. Nyberg was honored as the Assistant Secondary Principal of the Year by School Administrators of Iowa in 2018-19.

Jordan Griner (Licensure ’19) is a 7thgrade global studies teacher at Hoyt Middle School in Des Moines, Iowa.

Sara Pfister Johnston (Ph.D. ’13) has a new position as an associate professor for the Occupational Therapy Doctorate Program at Drake University