The Collegiate Teaching Award is the highest recognition of achievement in teaching given in the College of Education. From the nominations provided by students and faculty, the collegiate committee may select one or two recipients of the award per year.

Next deadline: April 1, 2024

Eligibility and Criteria

All current tenured, tenure-track, clinical track, or instructional track faculty from the College of Education are eligible for nomination. The award is based on the 2020-2023 academic years. Nominees need to have begun teaching in a faculty role in the College of Education no later than Fall 2020. Collegiate Teaching Award recipients from the past five years are not eligible for this year’s award.

Nominations are welcome from students and colleagues. Self-nominations are not permitted. The nominator should take responsibility for coordinating collection of the supporting material and making certain the deadline is met. If the nominator is a student, they should contact the DEO of the department to assist with the collection of the materials.

Please see evaluation rubric for more information on criteria.

Nomination and Selection Process

Required Documentation (not to exceed 12 pages total, including student letters):

  • A completed Collegiate Teaching Award Cover Page
  • A two-page summary of information from the nominee, including:
    • Brief statement of nominee’s teaching philosophy.
    • Courses taught during the academic years 2020-2021, 2021-2022, 2022-2023 (course description, class size, and student level).
    • Other teaching activities during academic years 2020-2021, 2021-2022, 2022-2023 (workshops, mentoring, advising, curriculum development, etc.).
    • Brief description of how the nominee’s scholarly works, professional products, or creative works enhance the quality of their teaching.
  • A three-page description written by the nominator (in consultation with the DEO as needed), about the nominee’s activities and accomplishments which demonstrate unusually significant and meritorious achievement in teaching during the academic years: 2020-2021, 2021-2022, and 2022-2023. This description must include:
    • An explanation of how this nominee’s teaching practices (including clinical lab or other formal settings) enhance student learning, including commentary on how their practices are inclusive and equitable for all students. As part of this discussion, please describe and evaluate the nominee’s teaching materials and class activities.
    • A description of how this nominee’s other contact with students (mentoring, advising, sponsoring of creative, professional, and/or scholarly achievements, etc.) contributes to students’ development (intellectual growth, creative achievement, research, externships, publications, etc.).
    • An inclusive summary of student evaluations of the nominee’s teaching (course evaluations, ACE forms, etc.). This summary may be narrative or quantitative. If providing a quantitative summary, please include statistical summary data (range, median).
  • A supporting letter, not to exceed two pages, by the nominee's DEO describing the nominee’s excellence in teaching during the 2020-2021, 2021-2022, and 2022-2023 academic years.
  • Three letters written by current or former students enrolled in the nominee’s classes in either 2020-2021, 2021-2022, or 2022-2023, consisting of supporting paragraphs about the nominee’s strengths and qualities as a teacher. Additional letters beyond three or from students who were not in the nominee’s classes in the designated years will not be considered.

A selection committee comprised of faculty in the College of Education, with at least one representative from each department, will be appointed to evaluate nominations.

Submission Process and Deadline

Nomination materials must be combined into one PDF file and submitted by the nominator by Monday, April 1, to Sarah Lobb, Faculty Affairs Manager, at

Award Details

  • A prize of $2000 and a commemorative gift.
  • Recipients will be recognized at the spring College of Education faculty meeting, via press release, via social media, and on college kiosks.

Past Recipients

Former Recipients of Collegiate Teaching Awards (Last 5 years)

  • 2022-23  Erin Barnes, Jodi Linley 
  • 2021-22  (No award)
  • 2020-21  Leslie Locke, Mark McDermott
  • 2019-20  Shawn Datchuk, Ain Grooms
  • 2018-19  Christine Ogren