Awarded to a doctoral student who is completing dissertations concerned with measurement in any one of four areas: mathematics education, science education, social studies education or English education.

Established through the estate of Gleynafa Ray (MA '37) in memory of her husband Dr. Ray  (MA '41/PhD '51).

More about Rolland Ray

This award was established in memory of Dr. Rolland Ray, a long-time research associate in the Iowa Testing Programs. Dr. Ray received his B.Ed. degree from Northern Illinois University and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in educational measurement from The University of Iowa in 1941 and 1951 respectively. Prior to earning his doctorate he taught mathematics and physics in the schools of Illinois and Iowa.

Upon completion of his graduate studies he joined the state of the Iowa Testing Programs as Project Director, a position he held from 1951 to 1968. He subsequently served as professional Associate in Measurement with American College Testing from 1968 until his retirement in 1981. Dr. Ray was a co-author of the mathematics tests of the Iowa Tests of Basic Skills and the Iowa Test of Educational Development. As a specialist in test development he directed numerous projects for American College Testing.

Recent recipients

  • 2016 - Ye Lin, Laurentius Ardian Susadya
  • 2015 - Ashleigh Crabtree
  • 2014 - Angelica Rankin, Joshua Tudor
  • 2013 - Paula Cunningham
  • 2007 - Aeran Choi