Awarded to a third or fourth year doctoral student in educational measurement and statistics. Student must have at least a year of study remaining. Established by the College of Education and Naomi Novick in memory of Professor Novick.

More about Melvin R. Novick

Melvin R. Novick received B.A., BS, and M.A. degrees from Roosevelt University and a Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He spent seven years working in various positions at Educational Testing Service in Princeton, New Jersey, and spent ten months as a visiting lecturer at the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth.

In 1970, he accepted a joint position with the American College Testing Program and The University of Iowa. In 1974, he accepted an offer from the University for a full time professorship, a position he held until his untimely death in May, 1986.

Dr. Novick made many significant contributions to the field of educational measurement and statistics and was well respected worldwide for his developments in measurement theory and Bayesian statistical methods. He played an active role in the development of professional standards in the construction and use of tests in psychological clinics and private practice, in personnel offices, and in the nation’s schools.

In addition to his many contributions to education, Dr. Novick was known for his generous support of intercollegiate sports and the visual and musical arts.

This award was established as a memorial for Professor Melvin R. Novick.

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Qing Xie
  • 2016 - Stella Kim
  • 2015 - Carrie Morris
  • 2014 - Anthony Fina
  • 2013 - Shalini Kapoor
  • 2011 - Yi-Fang Wu 
  • 2010 - Chunyan Liu
  • 2009 - Sonya Powers
  • 2008 - Kyong Hee Chon
  • 2007 - Emily R. Lai