Awarded to an outstanding graduate student in educational psychology. Established by Dr. James and Coretta Stroud.

More about James and Coretta Stroud

Born in 1897 in Hiawassee, Georgia, James Stroud overcame many obstacles associated with his rural origins. He received his B.A. degree from Lincoln Memorial University and M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Chicago.  Professor Stroud joined the UI faculty in 1938 as Associate Professor of Education and Psychology.

Dr. Stroud founded the Iowa program for training special education teachers and was a guiding force in the initial years of the Iowa School Psychologist Association and the Iowa Council for Exceptional Children. He became Professor Emeritus in 1965. 

James and Coretta Stroud both died in 1989. Dr. Stroud made significant contributions to learning theory through the integration of psychological principles and educational practices, particularly in the area of reading. On a personal level, James and Coretta Stroud influenced the field of education through their loving support of hundreds of students over nearly half a century.

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Carrie Ann Morris, Shaun Michael Wilkinson
  • 2016 - Nicole Hendrix
  • 2015 - Michelle Rogers, Abigail Kopelman
  • 2014 - Mollie Burke
  • 2013 - Marcus Alt & Jennifer Kuhle
  • 2012 - Allison Allmon, Jessica O'Bleness & Joanna Wiese
  • 2011 - James Gambrell
  • 2010 - Torricia Yamada
  • 2009 - Kelly Vinquist
  • 2008 - Joni M. Lakin
  • 2007 - Melissa Chapman