Awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student in elementary education who will be student teaching during the academic year following the award. The recipient must be a resident of Iowa. It was established by W. Christine Rauscher (MA '72 / PhD '78) in honor of Dr. Bagford.

Dr. Jack Bagford was a faculty member in the College of Education from 1962 until his retirement in 1991.

Professor Bagford earned his B.S. degree from Wilmington College, his M.A. degree from Miami University (Ohio), and his Ph.D. degree from Indiana University.  He served with distinction as an elementary teacher, an elementary principal, a director of student teaching and a college professor.  An active member of the International Reading Association, he was founder and president of the Iowa Council International Reading Association.

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Erin Richey
  • 2016 - Janessa Rosebeck
  • 2015 - John Alatalo
  • 2014 - Crystal Rodger
  • 2013 - Keaton Rickels
  • 2012 - Amanda Rethwisch
  • 2011 - Penelope Brinning
  • 2010 - Emily Duncan
  • 2009 - Shonna Negus
  • 2008 - Cheryl Poduska
  • 2007- Sheyla Shreck