Awarded to worthy undergraduate or graduate students. Established through gifts from colleagues and friends at the time of Dr. Jones's retirement.

More about Howard R. Jones

Dean Jones earned his B.S. and M.A. degrees from the University of Minnesota, and his Ph.D. degree from Yale University. In 1970, the University of Minnesota honored him with an Outstanding Achievement Award from the Regents. Dean Jones’ professional career spanned nearly half a century.  At various times, he served as teacher, counselor, principal and superintendent, college teacher and administrator. He died in 1986.

Through his efforts, the UI College of Education occupied its first permanent site with the completion of the second phase of the Lindquist Center in 1980. To honor him at the dedication, the student-faculty lounge of that facility was named the Howard R. Jones Commons.

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Elizabeth Mary Petersen
  • 2016 - Emma Hanson
  • 2015 - Teniell Trolian
  • 2013 - Alexander Rice, Jessica O'Bleness & Scott Fratella
  • 2012 - Anthony Fina
  • 2011 - Michael Hevel & Lindsay Laurich
  • 2010 - Melanie Bachmeyer & Rossina Zamora Liu
  • 2009 - Michael Ayers & Jennifer Teitle
  • 2008 - Andrew Notebaert
  • 2007 - Erin Wehr-Flowers & Ryan S. Wells