Awarded to an outstanding graduate student in educational leadership with preference given to nominees interested in the financing of education.

More about Harvey H. Davis

Dr. Davis was born in Iowa in 1894 and was reared in this state. He received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from The University of Iowa. He taught in rural schools in Iowa and served as a school administrator in Carrollton, Illinois, and in St. Louis. In 1928, he became a member of the Ohio State Department of Education as well as a member of the faculty at The Ohio State University, and in 1942 was appointed Vice-President in charge of faculty and instruction.

Dr. Davis returned to The University of Iowa in 1948 as Executive Dean for Teaching and Research and as Dean of the Graduate College. In 1963, Dr. Davis was named Provost Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Educational Administration. He died in 1969.

Dr. Davis received numerous citations and honors for his service and dedication to higher education including an LL.D. degree from Bowling Green State University and the Distinguished Service Award from Kent State University.

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Matthew John Stier
  • 2016 - Anthony Neumann
  • 2015 - Scott McKissick
  • 2014 - Janelle Brouwer, Teniell Trolian
  • 2013 - Jeremy Reed & Steven Shanley
  • 2012 - Shane Williams
  • 2011 - Anne Knepper
  • 2010 - David Dude
  • 2009 - Jake Klipsch
  • 2008 - Mark Hopkins