Awarded to an outstanding international student pursuing a Ph.D. in the College of Education. Applicants must have completed at least two full semesters in residence at the University of Iowa and have at least a year of study remaining. Established by Louise Stone in memory of her husband, Dr. Stone (MA '42/PhD '63).

More about Franklin Stone

This award was established as a memorial for Dr. Franklin D. Stone, Professor of Educational Administration, following his death in 1983. He had a life-time interest in international education. Dr. Stone received his B.A. from Jamestown College and his M.A. and Ph.D. from The University of Iowa. His professional career spanned nearly half a century during which he served as teacher, principal, superintendent, and, for nineteen years, as a professor in the College of Education. During his tenure at The University of Iowa, Dr. Stone was actively involved in international education and was a member of the Society for International Development and the Commonwealth Council for Educational Administration.

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Gomee Park
  • 2016 - Yunkyoung Loh
  • 2015 - Sungho Kim
  • 2014 - Wei Lin Chen
  • 2013 - Junfei Lu
  • 2012 - Ki Hyun Kim
  • 2011 - Ling-Yan Yang
  • 2010 - Ying-Chih Chen
  • 2009 - Aurore Mroz
  • 2007 - Sueuk Park