Awarded to an international student in the College of Education. Established by Stephanie Wasta (MA '89/PhD '93) in honor of her grandparents.

More about Erwin and Louise Wasta

This award honors the memory of Erwin and Louise Wasta of Cedar Rapids, who were long-time supporters of a number of programs at The University of Iowa. Their granddaughter, Stephanie Wasta (1989 M.A., 1993 Ph.D.), worked with international students during her years of study at The University of Iowa as the International Student Liaison. 

Following graduation, Stephanie took a position as Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Montana, Missoula from 1993 to 2007. She then joined James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA and currently serves as Associate Professor of Learning, Technology, and Leadership Education.  

Recent recipients

  • 2017 - Sanga Kim
  • 2016 - Na Mi Bang
  • 2015 - Na Mi Bang
  • 2014 - DaEun Lee
  • 2013 - Puja Birla
  • 2012 - Berhan Gelan
  • 2011 - Younhee Lee
  • 2008 - Sueuk Park
  • 2007 - Yewande Lewis