Friday, February 1, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Kent Campus Center, Simpson College

Registration information.

TLC credit: Traditional, UI REACH (2 credits for attending)

The intent of this conference is to provide support, encouragement, and connection to our newest educators and those teacher leaders and administrators that work most closely with them.  2010 National Teacher of the Year, and Iowa Teacher of the Year, Sarah Brown Wessling, and Mandy Manning, 2018 National Teacher of the Year, will both share keynote presentations as well as lead break out sessions.  Participants will have the opportunity to learn from and collaborate with outstanding Iowa educators, professional leaders, and Iowa Department of Education consultants to focus on developing skills and practices for those first years in the classroom.  Breakout sessions include:  Classroom Communities, Family and Community Engagement, Mental Health, Finding a Balance, and Effective Teaching Strategies among others. 


Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the Baker Teacher Leader Center, 319-335-5623, in advance.