Award Description

The Audrey Qualls Commitment to Diversity Award is named in memory of Professor Qualls who was a student and faculty member in the department of Psychological and Quantitative Foundations and Iowa Testing Programs from 1982-2002. She was widely known for her commitment to her students and advancing and advocating for issues of diversity in the college and across campus.

Sponsored by the College of Education Diversity Committee, The Audrey Qualls Commitment to Diversity Award is designed to honor College of Education faculty, staff, and students who have shown a commitment to diversity.


College of Education faculty, staff, and graduate students are eligible. Nominations may be submitted by College of Education faculty, staff, and students.

Primary Criteria

  • Implemented or developed an innovative program, policy, participated in activities, and/or teaching that has served to inform the college community about topics related diversity and/or enhanced culture by creating a more inclusive and welcoming community in the College, or
  • Actively supported diversity initiatives, programs, and educational opportunities in the College of Education and contributed to creating an inclusive and welcoming environment.

The contributions should have a positive effect on building respect and community within the College and/or in the educational context, for students either in the classroom or in experiential learning opportunities.

How to Nominate

Please complete the online Nomination Form (an online workflow form in Employee Self Service). Required is a statement of nomination addressing the primary criteria and one letter of support written by someone other than the nominator.

Preference will be given to nominees who have not previously received this award.


April 12, 2017.


One award each may be provided to a student, staff, and/or faculty member on an annual basis. A subcommittee of the Diversity Committee will determine the awardees from the nominations received.

Awards will be presented at the College of Education Staff Appreciation and Diversity spring lunch on Thursday, April 20,2017.

Past Awards Recipients

Amy Bennett, staff
William Coghill-Behrends, faculty
Yunkyoung Loh Garrison, grad student
Jason Harshman, faculty

Cindy Ann Kilgo, grad student
Debora Liddell, faculty
Evans Ocholo, staff

Jodi Linley, faculty
Volker Thomas, faculty

Cassie Barnhardt, faculty
William Liu, faculty

Carolyn Colvin, faculty
Stewart Ehly, faculty

Mitchell Kelly, faculty
Jan Warren, staff

Malik Henfield, faculty
Anna Marie Guengerich, staff

Gregory Hamot, faculty
David Tingwald, staff

Saba Rasheed Ali, faculty
Cristina Cardenas, staff

Dennis Harper, faculty
Rebecca Anthony, staff

Donald Yarbrough, faculty
David Lippe, staff

Sherry Watt, faculty
Sue Cline, staff

Scott McNabb, faculty
Laurie Croft, staff

Debora Liddell, faculty
Daushen Ju, staff

William Liu, faculty
Judith Brewer, staff

Scott McNabb, faculty
Jan Warren, staff