• During the 2015-2016 academic year, HESA students published 16 articles in a range of journals, including: College Student Affairs Journal, Journal of College Orientation and Transition, Higher Education, Journal of Diversity in Higher Education and the Journal of College Student Development. Our master’s and PhD students gave nearly 30 presentations at international, national, regional, and local conferences.
  • DaVida Anderson, current Ph.D. student, was the recipient of the Margaret P. Benson Memorial Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year for her commitment to encouraging and inspiring women.
  • Abi Aparajithan, current Ph.D. student, was appointed as the student representative to the inaugural College of Education Advisory Board for a three-year appointment.
  • DaVida Anderson and Laila McCloud, current Ph.D. students, participated and placed among the top three in this year’s College of Education Martin Luther King, Jr., research symposium.
  • Cindy Ann Kilgo, recent doctoral graduate, was the winner of the Diversity Catalyst Award for their commitment to creating an inclusive community at Iowa.
  • University of Iowa was honored to have two current HESA students receive awards from the Coalition for Graduate Students and New Professionals – Megan Dial, Outstanding Master’s Student, and Cindy Ann Kilgo, Outstanding Doctoral Student.
  • Eric Moy, current Ph.D. student, was recently selected as the recipient of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for his commitment to instruction at the University of Iowa.
  • Mark Archibald, current doctoral student, received the 2016 Outstanding Staff Contribution Award from the Tippie College of Business.

Welcome New HESA Students

Entering 2016 MA Cohort

  • Jill Beuning
  • Brock Cavett
  • Liza Hurley
  • Dominique Kincaid
  • Amy Lintner
  • Ryan Miller
  • Zana Morris
  • Prisma Ruacho
  • Dani Snook
  • Alex Waad

Entering 2016 PhD Cohort

  • Matt Augeri
  • Whit France-Kelly
  • Nayoung Jang
  • Paula Kinney
  • Charles Martin-Stanley
  • Mark Valencia
  • Kari Weaver
  • Betsy Winter