Albert B. Hood
Emeritus Professor Albert Hood joined the UI College of Education faculty in 1965.  He founded and led the Student Development program for over 30 years. He is a prolific scholar, with more than 100 publications.  Professor Hood is former editor of the Journal of College Student Development.  He directed more than 60 Ph.D. dissertations, including those of alumni George Kuh and Carney Strange. The Outstanding Alum Award honors his legacy of campus leadership, mentoring, teaching, research, and service to the profession while at the University of Iowa. 

2017 Nominations are Open!

Individual Award Criteria

  • Graduate of the Higher Education and Student Affairs (HESA), Student Development in Postsecondary Education (SDP), Student Affairs Administration and Research (SAAR), or Higher Education (HiEd) Ph.D., M.A., or related program at the University of Iowa
  • Evidence of significant contributions to the field through one or more of the following: 
    • campus, community, or professional service
    • leadership
    • mentoring
    • teaching
    • generation and dissemination of knowledge
    • and/or additional ways unique to the nominee
  • At least one decade of post-graduate service and involvement in the field of higher education and student affairs

Nomination and Selection

Nominations and self-nominations can be made using the online nomination form. Nominators must provide a statement of no more than 500 words about why the nominee is an outstanding alum of the HESA, SDP, SAAR, or HiEd program at the University of Iowa. Nominees will be asked to confirm their willingness to be considered for the award prior to selection and will receive a copy of the nomination.  The winner will be selected by a committee of past award recipients and program representatives.

Presentation of Award

The award will be presented during the Higher Education and Student Affairs Hooding Ceremony on Friday, May 12, 2017. The award winner is not required to attend the reception in order to receive the award, but their presence is highly encouraged.

Please contact Jodi Linley at with any questions about the nomination process.

Albert B. Hood Outstanding Alum Award Recipients

  • 2001: George D. Kuh (PhD, 1975)
  • 2002: Mary Howard Hamilton (MA, 1977)
  • 2003: Terry Piper (MA, 1979)
  • 2004: C. Carney Strange (MA, 1976; PhD, 1978)
  • 2005: Lynnea J. Halberg (PhD, 1987)
  • 2006: Darlene Biggers (PhD, 1988)
  • 2007: Diane L. Cooper (PhD, 1985)
  • 2008: Michael Dannells (PhD, 1978)
  • 2009: Michael Freeman (MA, 1983)
  • 2010: Patricia Enos (PhD, 1981)
  • 2011: Margaret A. Healy (MA, 1972)
  • 2012: Larry Braskamp (PhD, 1967)
  • 2013: Not awarded
  • 2014: William R. Barratt (PhD, 1983)
  • 2015: Al S. Thompson, Jr. (MA, 1985)
  • 2016: Carlton Goode (MA, 2006)
  • 2017: Tracy L. Davis (MA, 1992; PhD, 1997) & Michael D. Young (PhD, 1978)